The mission of the Greenville Arts Council is to promote the rich cultural heritage of the region and stimulate and encourage cultural activities, arts appreciation, arts education, and the creative works of artists.

We strive to continue our mission through housing local artist’s studio spaces, hosting gallery exhibitions year-round of local/regional artists, coordinate student & teacher learning arts-workshops, & opening our auditorium doors for artistic, cultural activities.


The Greenville Arts Council is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) charitable organization that works in public/private partnership with the City of Greenville and the Washington County Convention & Visitors Bureau. Our agency also receives public funding from the Mississippi Arts Commission. Additionally, our programs and services are supported by private foundations, corporate donors, our volunteer board of directors, and individuals committed to cultural development in the city.MAClogo2007


Volunteering with the Greenville Arts Council is a wonderful way to contribute something positive to your community and to feed your own creativity at the same time. The E.E. Bass Cultural Arts Center is an exciting place to be! There is always something going on, and here one can witness all of the varied art forms in action.

Position Description:
Whether you’re an art patron seeking the opportunity to take part in art or simply looking for an opportunity to become more involved in the local community the Greenville Arts Council is the place for you! We have a wide range of volunteer opportunities from helping with day to day operations to assisting with more fast paced projects such as preparation for receptions, community events, and gallery openings.

Anyone who is dependable, prompt and willing can volunteer, no matter your age. No particular skills are required to be involved in the volunteer program; our goal is to match your skills and preferences with our available tasks. Volunteers must be reliable, mature, and able to handle responsibility with enthusiasm. Opportunities available from weekly to monthly.

Anyone looking for volunteer hours for a separate entity or just wanting to serve the community, please contact Whitney Turnipseed at 662-332-2246 or email us at execdirector@greenville-arts-council.com.