2012 Governor's Award for Excellence in the Arts

The 2012 Governor’s Awards for Excellence in the Arts ceremony will be held on Thursday, February 16, 2012 at 1:00pm at Wells Memorial United Methodist Church in Jackson.  Wells is the recipient of the 2012 award for “Arts In Community” for their annual “WellsFest” held in Jackson, making this celebration an even more special event.

The host of the ceremony this year will be none other than Mac McAnally, the 2011 recipient of the Governor’s Award for Excellence in Music.  We are delighted to have Mac back with us in this very important role.

The Governor’s Awards for Excellence in the Arts are presented annually to outstanding writers, artists, performers, craftsmen and educators who have made significant and lasting contributions through their work as well as to corporations or organizations on the basis of their dedication to arts advancement. Previous winners include B.B. King, James “Super Chikan” Johnson, Malcolm White, Mary Katharine Loyacono McCravey, the late Little Milton (Campbell), Dr. David Blackburn, the Mississippi Alliance for Arts Education, USA International Ballet Competition, William Eggleston, Bo Diddley and Charles Burnett.

Leave a Reply